Wierd not spooky

What’s your favorite word?

W.I.E.R.D

Wild

Incredible

Re-imagined

Explicit

Daring

strange is only strange because it’s not your everyday cup of coffee.

It’s a punch of lemons, in a cocktail of many truths and

a handful of ice cubes to cool the adventures that your train of thoughts may have never imagined.

People fear what they don’t understand

so I feast off of the nightmares in their thoughts of thoughts

like preys, they tremble at the sight of my “weird” so I share a smile.

Smiles are the thickest curtains that draw the line between what meets the eye

the untamed realities that exist passed those lips.

Bizarre is the new word to mean

” I am uncomfortable with your unique perspective ” 

or “I would have liked it better if your train of thoughts  didn’t make me feel threatened.”


So when You are called bizarre when you fail to fit in the box the society customized  for you .

Mystery is part of the package and this for me is my favorite part on the menu. 

It’s brilliant to keep those around in the dark

as the luxury of privacy in a century void of secrets blossoms.
What is creepier than sharing your every life corner with strangers

just to quench your thirst for acceptance especially from the shadow in the mirror?!


they say, mirrors reflect, numbers do not lie

and a good name is worth more than gold

but my question is, “who qualifies a good name?”

Published by: Immaculate Auma

Immaculate Auma is a journalism student at Uganda Christian University. She is a communications enthusiast, passionate about women issues and creative arts. she writes for the Standard, an online University newspaper and uses this platform to scribble down her thoughts. Auma uses her story telling skills to amplify voices that are too afraid to come out of the shadows and draws great satisfaction in penning each fragment of fear to life through her words. "BE A VOICE, NOT AN ECHO"

Categories HER TALESTags, Leave a comment

Leave a comment